Architectural Enthusiasm at my house

The Culture of Enthusiasm

And as if I didn’t have enough data to last me a good few years, I’m working on a great project with Hannah Neate and Ruth Craggs on architectural enthusiasm. We started work about 7 months ago and we are currently progressing towards our first publication. We have regular Skype meetings, but the opportunity arose last week to meet in person for a two day – write-a-thon. Our work has always set out to combine interests in enthusiasm (as an emotional affiliation to a particular interest, cause, activity) and geographies of architecture (see here work by Jacobs and Merriman, Lees and Baxter). However, working with The Twentieth Century Society and their volunteer walking tour guides, it soon became clear we have stumbled upon a culture of urban exploration which has much in common with the much discussed ‘urban exploration’ – in particular I draw your attention to the recent coverage…

View original post 212 more words

About lukebennett13
Reader & Course Leader, BSc Hons Real Estate, Sheffield Hallam University, UK. I TEACH: built environment law to construction, surveying, real estate and environmental management students. I RESEARCH: metal theft; urban exploration & recreational trespass; occupiers' perceptions of liability for their premises. I THINK: about the links between ideas, materialities and practices in the built environment. I WAS: an environmental lawyer working in commercial practice for 17 years before I joined academia in 2007. I EXPLAIN: the aims of my blogsite site here: https://lukebennett13.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/prosaic/ LINKS: Twitter: @lukebennett13; Archive: http://shu.academia.edu/lukebennett. EPITAPH: “He lived at a little distance from his body, regarding his own acts with doubtful side-glances.” James Joyce, Dubliners

Leave a Reply

